Need good cheap blender recipes

Hello all. I am bad with money.

I’m terribly bad with money to the point of I would rather spend my money on electronics, office supplies, and musical instruments than on food.

Is that being bad with money? Or is it being terrible at prioritizing?

If you were to see me around my school’s break room, I would be scrounging around the refrigerator looking for food like a dirty raccoon. D:

And, so, to avoid being the school’s poster-child of regressing back into an undergrad mindset (we are in professional school, after all!) I have to think of ways to make it easier on myself when making meals.

Thus…blender foods. Blech.

Not particularly satisfying, but I can definitely get all the nutrients I need from blending veggies and herbs. However easy this sounds, last night’s experiment was disappointing. I became random with my ingredients and I’m reaping the consequences – two day’s worth of a weird concoction of yellow squash, zucchini, corn, carrots, basil, onion, garlic, and cilantro.

It doesn’t look too bad, but I’m definitely missing the umami-ness of ingredients.

I think I need to cut either the corn or the carrots since two sweet veggies aren’t helping the flavor. Also, I might turn this into a casserole with quinoa.

If I don’t make this delicious, my body will definitely regress back into buying snack foods which goes against my terrible prioritizing with my money.

3 Responses to Need good cheap blender recipes

  1. Eileen says:

    Perhaps keep it simple and use fewer ingredients?

    Veggie smoothies aren’t really my thing. I’m fortunate in that I have an awesome little sister that loves to cook and doesn’t mind making me lunch every day for school and work. 😀

    I’m glad you’re writing again. I’ve missed you!

  2. W.P. says:

    😀 I’ve been waiting to write on this blog but I’ve been hesitant because my thoughts aren’t as deep and meaningful and are just superficial and stupid sounding.
    You’re so lucky you have good cooks with you!(⌒-⌒) being stuck here alone makes me crave Filipino dishes sometimes (and by crave, I mean unstoppable hunger lol).
    I also gave up on the smoothie bit – it’s just something my body can’t get used to right now. I need warm food that’s…real. “Real” warm food is different than eating for nutrients. Home-cooking…! I could go on and on but I’m falling asleep at the computer.

    Stay well and happy! 🙂

  3. Eileen says:

    Never be hesitant to write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

